The city Visitor's Center and Train Museum, located within the Aiken Railroad Depot is now open! The original railroad depot in this location was built in 1899 and torn down in 1954 when the railroad discontinued rail service to Aiken. Through citizen efforts, that depot has been replicated with the exterior of the original depot built as the original architectural plans dictate, but altered in the interior, only to satisfy modern construction requirements and current uses.
The Aiken Railroad Depot not only assists visitors and community members with their questions about Aiken, but also tells the story of the first railroad in the world to have regularly scheduled passenger service and the story of eight of the towns along that rail line, including the first two railroad towns in the world, Summerville and Aiken. Drop in to find out how to experience Aiken and learn about the Charleston to Hamburg Rail Line which became operational in 1833, was the longest railroad in the world at 136 miles and the historical contributions made to the world with the development of this railroad.
Come by and “Experience Aiken!”
* For groups coming by bus / motorcoach to Aiken, please contact the Visitors Center for more information when planning your trip.